Log In | Contact Us
Browse: Collections Subjects Creators Record Groups

National Organization for Women | University of Houston Libraries

Name: National Organization for Women

Historical Note: Founded in 1970 by Sally and Bart Hacker the Houston chapter of the National Organization for Women (NOW) organized to help further the goals of the National Organization for Women. The national NOW website states that “Since its founding in 1966, NOW’s goal has been to take action to bring about equality for all women. NOW works to eliminate discrimination and harassment in the workplace, schools, the justice system, and all other sectors of society; secure abortion, birth control and reproductive rights for all women; end all forms of violence against women; eradicate racism, sexism and homophobia; and promote equality and justice in our society.” Houston Area NOW has been very active in education reform and media reform, having successfully formed task forces that helped eliminate sexist language in textbooks, and radio and television programs in the Houston and greater Texas areas. Houston Area NOW members also played instrumental roles in forming related groups such as the  Texas Women’s Political Caucus and the Harris County Women’s Political Caucus which contributed to the elimination of sexist hiring practices by many major Houston area employers. The National and Houston Area NOW organizations, in particular, have been working towards passage of the Equal Rights Amendment after it narrowly missed ratification in 1972 and the organization continues to be active in efforts for reproductive freedom, women’s health and anti-discrimination initiatives for women and GLBT individuals.
Sources: Kuykendall, Nancy. “History (Abridged) of the Houston Area Chapter of the National Organization for Women”. Houston Area Now, 1975.
Note Author: Kristine Nicole McAlear, Timothy Wyatt

Page Generated in: 0.112 seconds (using 94 queries).
Using 2.89MB of memory. (Peak of 3.1MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-2
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign