Log In | Contact Us
Browse: Collections Subjects Creators Record Groups

Storey, Gail Donohue | University of Houston Libraries

Name: Storey, Gail Donohue

Historical Note:

Gail Donohue Storey was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts on July 15, 1947. She earned a B.A. from Rosary College in 1969, a M.S. in Library Science from the University of Illinois in 1973, a M.A. in liberal education from John's College in 1982, and a M.A. in English and Creative Writing from the University of Houston also in 1982. Storey is the author of I Promise Not to Suffer: A Fool for Love Hikes the Pacific Crest Trail, The Lord's Motel, God's Country Club, First Poems of Gail Donohue, articles, essays, and works of short fiction.

Storey has won numerous honors and awards, including, for I Promise Not to Suffer, the National Outdoor Book Award (2013), Foreword/IndieFab Book of the Year (2013), Nautilus Silver Award (2014), Colorado Book Award (2014), Barbara Savage Award (2013), Boulder Writers' Workshop Best Memoir (2013), and finalist, Colorado Authors' League Award (2014) and Next Generation Indie Book Award (2014). God's Country Club was a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection (1996). She also won New Millennium Writings Honorable Mentions in Nonfiction in 2010 and 2009, the My Table Magazine Haiku Competition in 1999, the Best Fiction Award from the South Central Women's Studies Association in 1998, finalist in fiction for the Austin Writers' League Violet Crown Book Award in 1997, finalist in fiction for the PEN Texas Writing Awards in 1997, the PEN Southwest Discovery Prize, second honorable mention in 1989, finalist in 1988 and 1984, and first runner up for fiction in 1983, an honorable mention from the Cultural Arts Council of Houston in 1987, Texas Fiction Contest runner-up in 1985, first prize for fiction for the Houston Orange Show in 1985; a Yaddo fellowship in 1987 and Virginia Center for the Creative Arts fellowship in 1985, the Houston Festival Prose Award in 1983, New Poetic Drama first honorable mention in 1981, and the Elliott Coleman Award, second honorable mention in 1980.

Page Generated in: 0.11 seconds (using 94 queries).
Using 2.89MB of memory. (Peak of 3.09MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-2
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign