Log In | Contact Us
Browse: Collections Subjects Creators Record Groups

North America Taiwanese Women's Association | University of Houston Libraries

Name: North America Taiwanese Women's Association

Historical Note:

Founded on 13 March 1988, the North America Taiwanese Women’s Association (NATWA) organized during an era when Taiwanese women had no independent organization to represent them. In 1987, Ms. Maysing Yang became the Taiwanese American Association’s (TAA) first female president and ushered in a new era for Taiwanese women. Enlisting the services of Ms. Annette Lu, founder of Taiwan’s women’s movement, to aid in planning, the first steps toward a women’s branch of the TAA began to take shape. In March of 1988, thirty Taiwanese women from the United States and Canada met in Los Angeles and under the guidance of Ms. Lu, voted to form NATWA.

The members voted Fu-Mei-Chang of San Jose first President, with Grace Chou serving as Vice-President and president elect. At the same time, seven by-law board members were also elected and in July of the same year 45 members voted to approve the official by-laws. The seven board members, having concluded their duties, became the first seven regional board members representing US East, US Midwest, US West, US South, US Great Plains, US Southeast, and Canada. The organization continued to grow for the following six years when the sixth president, Ying Lee, broadened NATWA’s structure. During her tenure, Ms. Lee organized committees and create formal job descriptions for office holders.

NATWA continues to grow to this day with the participation of over 1,000 members. Run primarily by volunteers, the organization boasts a healthy financial standing due to its publications, especially its yearly calendar. Though faced with obstacles on the world stage, NATWA has garnered more support in the foreign community and in December 2000, NATWA became one of the five collaborating members of the World Taiwanese Congress.

Sources: http://www.natwa.com/link/NATWAStoryE.pdf
Note Author: Timothy Wyatt

Page Generated in: 0.064 seconds (using 94 queries).
Using 2.89MB of memory. (Peak of 3.09MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-2
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign