Log In | Contact Us
Browse: Collections Subjects Creators Record Groups

University of Houston. University Commission on Women | University of Houston Libraries

Name: University of Houston. University Commission on Women

Historical Note:

On September 24, 1999, then University of Houston President, Arthur K. Smith, appointed twenty-four university affiliated women to the Presidential Commission on the Status of Women for a two-year period in an effort to address the issues and concerns of women on the university campus. Two months later, at the request of the commission, President Smith expanded the commission to thirty-five members, including males and other identified persons. The following year work groups were formed and consultants began gathering information on the status of women at the University of Houston. The Committee on the Status of Women (CSW) also proposed the formation of a Women’s Resource Center (WRC) to President Smith who deferred his final decision on the proposal until the commission’s final report. On September 21, 2001 the Final Report with executive summary was forwarded to President Smith.

In 2002 Kathy Anzivino and Anne Jacobson were elected as co-chairs of the commission and committees began work on specific recommendations including the process of creating a single, permanent, campus wide advisory group on women's issues at the university. The University Commission on Women became a permanent organization in May of 2003 upon President Smith’s approval of the bylaws recommended for its operations. On January 12, 2004 the commission held its first official meeting.

Sources: University Commission on Women webpage: http://www.uh.edu/ucw/UCW%20History/index.php
Note Author: Timothy Wyatt

Page Generated in: 0.071 seconds (using 94 queries).
Using 2.89MB of memory. (Peak of 3.09MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-2
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign